Rail Accident And Incident Investigation Unit

Danemark Great Belt bridge railway accident

Danemark Great Belt Bridge Accident

The Great Belt Bridge rail accident occurred on 2 January 2019 on the Great Belt Fixed Link in Denmark when a passenger train collided with a semi-trailer from or on a passing freight train. The Great Belt Fixed Link is an 18 km (11 mi) long bridge–tunnel connection between the Danish islands of Zealand and Funen, and the accident happened on the West Bridge, near Funen. The accident happened during a storm, which had closed down the bridge for road traffic, but not for rail traffic.

The interim findings from the National Investigation Body (NIB) of Denmark show that semi-trailers may not be sufficiently secured against movement when transported on pocket wagons. In particular, the mechanism that ensures the locking of the kingpin in the hitch (type FW6170) of the pocket wagons was found to be unlocked on several occasions.  This is why the Danish NIB issued a safety alert and the Danish National Safety Authority (NSA) of Denmark notified a request to launch a Joint Network Secretariat (JNS) Urgent Procedure.
The JNS Panel, representing the entire railway sector, agreed and established a task force which was organised and chaired by the European Union Agency for Railways.

The task force was composed of experts from the concerned sector organisations and has defined an action plan containing short-term mitigation measures. The action plan is now available on the website of the European Union Agency for Railways: European Action Plan.

These measures aim at ensuring:

The investigation report is available on the website of the Danish investigation body: https://en.havarikommissionen.dk/railway-archive/2019/2019-2-final/.

 

 

Menu

Organisme d'Enquête sur les Accidents et Incidents Ferroviaires

Danemark Great Belt bridge railway accident

Danemark Great Belt Bridge Accident L’accident ferroviaire du pont du « Great Belt » s’est produit le 2 janvier 2019 sur la liaison fixe du Grand Belt au Danemark lorsqu’un train de voyageurs est entré en collision avec une semi-remorque chargée sur un wagon d’un train de marchandises croiseur. « The great Belt Fixed links » est une liaison pont-tunnel de 18 km (11 mi) de long entre les îles danoises de Zélande et de Funen, et l’accident s’est produit sur le West Bridge, près de Funen. L’accident s’est produit lors d’une tempête, qui avait fermé le pont pour le trafic routier, mais pas pour le trafic ferroviaire.

Les conclusions provisoires de l’Organisme national d’enquête (NIB) du Danemark montrent que les semi-remorques peuvent ne pas être suffisamment protégées contre les mouvements lorsqu’elles sont transportées sur des « pocket wagons ». En particulier, le mécanisme qui assure le verrouillage du pivot d’attelage (type FW6170) des « pocket wagons » s’est révélé déverrouillé à plusieurs reprises. C’est pourquoi, le National Investigation Body  du Danemark a émis une alerte de sécurité et l’Autorité nationale de sécurité (NSA) du Danemark a notifié une demande de lancement d’une procédure d’urgence au Joint Network Secretariat (JNS).
Le panel JNS , représentant l’ensemble du secteur ferroviaire, a accepté et créé un groupe de travail organisé et présidé par l’Agence de l’Union européenne pour les chemins de fer.

Le groupe de travail était composé d’experts des organisations sectorielles concernées dont l’objectif était de définir un plan d’action contenant des mesures d’atténuation à court terme. Le plan d’action est à présent disponible sur le site de l’agence européenne pour le rail :  European Action Plan

Ces mesures visent à assurer:

Le rapport d’enquête est disponible sur le site de l’organisme d’enquête danois : https://en.havarikommissionen.dk/railway-archive/2019/2019-2-final/

Menu