Rail Accident And Incident Investigation Unit

Main duties

Main duties of the unit

Investigations Database Communication European Consultation Museum Line

 

Investigations

The Rail Accident and Incident Investigation Unit (RAIIU) is responsible for investigating operational accidents considered serious, occurring on the Belgian railway network. As well as serious accidents, the RAIIU is allowed to investigate other accidents and incidents with consequences for railway safety. The safety investigations carried out aim to determine the circumstances and causes of the event and not with apportioning blame. Every year, the rail industry informs us of numerous accidents, incidents and near misses. We do not investigate everything, but use various criteria to help us to decide which ones to examine. The Law under which we operate requires us to investigate certain types of accidents, particularly train collisions and derailments which have led to the death of one person, serious injuries for five or more people or damage estimated at a total of at least 2 million euros. The Law gives us the flexibility to decide to investigate less serious accidents.

Sometimes, we are informed of events in which serious consequences have been narrowly avoided. We look closely at whether it would be appropriate to investigate such incidents which, if the circumstances had been slightly different, could have resulted in a serious issue. The accidents and incidents are sorted according to the elements provided by the railway undertaking and the infrastructure manager, according to three levels of seriousness: serious, significant and other.

The decision to open an investigation is taken by the RAIIU independently on the basis of this information, potentially supplemented by a preliminary enquiry.

 

 

Database

All the accidents and incidents reported by the infrastructure manager and by railway undertakings are recorded into the RAIIU database daily. In this database all events are catalogued based on the information provided by the railway undertakings and the infrastructure manager.

The database allows common safety indicators to be determined, as foreseen by European Directives.

The common safety indicators are published on a national level in the annual report of the Safety Authority.

 

 

Communication

Contact with the press is via the spokespersons of Federal Public Service Mobility and Transport, in accordance with the agreement protocol established between the FPS and the Investigation Unit.

The investigation reports are made public and are intended to inform the parties concerned, the industry, regulating bodies, but also the general public. This is why the RAIIU publishes, on the one hand in two languages (French and Dutch), the report and on the other hand in four languages (English, French, Dutch and German), summaries giving details of the main elements of an investigation. The report outlines the elements that have allowed conclusions to be drawn.

When the RAIIU decides to open an investigation, the website is updated.

 

 

European consultation

The RAIIU takes part in the activities of the network of national investigation bodies, which takes place under the aegis of the European Union Agency for Railways (ERA). The aim of this network is to allow the exchange of experiences and to work together on the European harmonisation of regulations and investigation procedures.

 

 

Investigations on accidents that have occurred on museum railway lines 

The Law of 26 March 2014 regulates all requirements on the operational safety of museum railway lines.

A museum railway line has the main function of tourist-passenger transport with historical rolling stock, such as steam trains. These are abandoned railway lines which have remained in place and which are generally operated by a company operating tourist trains. To be able to operate a museum railway line, the operator must have authorisation, issued by the Safety Authority (DRSI).

This law stipulates that the operator of a museum railway line should immediately inform the RAIIU of the occurrence of a serious accident, according to the means determined by the RAIIU. It also foresees that the RAIIU carries out an investigation following every serious accident occurring on a museum railway line.

 

Menu

Organisme d'Enquête sur les Accidents et Incidents Ferroviaires

Missions

Missions de l’organisme

Les enquêtes Base de données Communication Concertation européenne Ligne musée

 

Les enquêtes

L’Organisme d’Enquête sur les accidents et incidents ferroviaires (OEAIF) est chargé d’effectuer des enquêtes sur les accidents d’exploitation dits graves, survenant sur le réseau ferroviaire belge. En plus des accidents dits graves, l’OEAIF est habilité à enquêter sur d’autres accidents et incidents ayant des conséquences sur la sécurité ferroviaire. Les enquêtes de sécurité visent à déterminer les circonstances et les causes d’un événement, et non les responsabilités. L’industrie ferroviaire nous informe chaque année de nombreux accidents, incidents et quasi-accidents. Nous n’enquêtons pas sur tous. Nous utilisons divers critères pour nous aider à décider lesquels nous examinerons. La loi en vertu de laquelle nous opérons nous oblige à enquêter sur certains types d’accidents notamment les collisions de trains et les déraillements ayant entraîné la mort d’une personne, des blessures graves pour cinq personnes ou plus, ou des dommages estimés à un total d’au moins 2 millions d’euros. La loi nous laisse toute latitude pour décider d’enquêter sur des accidents moins graves.

Parfois, nous sommes informés d’événements dans lesquels de graves conséquences ont été évitées de justesse. Nous examinons attentivement s’il convient d’enquêter sur de tels incidents qui, si les circonstances n’avaient été que légèrement différentes, auraient pu avoir une issue sérieuse. Les événements sont répertoriés, en fonction des éléments fournis par l’entreprise ferroviaire et par le gestionnaire d’infrastructure, selon trois niveaux de gravité: graves, significatifs et autres.

La décision de procéder à l’enquête est prise par l’OEAIF de manière autonome sur base de ces informations, éventuellement complétées par une enquête préliminaire.

 

 

 

Base de données

Tous les accidents et incidents signalés par le gestionnaire d’infrastructure et par les entreprises ferroviaires sont introduits quotidiennement dans la base de données de l’OEAIF. Cette base de données répertorie les événements en fonction des éléments fournis par les entreprises ferroviaires et par le gestionnaire d’infrastructure.

La base de données permet de disposer d’indicateurs communs de sécurité, tels que prévus par les directives européennes.

Les indicateurs communs de sécurité sont publiés au niveau national dans le rapport annuel de l’Autorité de sécurité.

 

 

 

Communication

Les contacts avec la presse s’effectuent via les porte-paroles du Service Public Fédéral  Mobilité et Transports, conformément au protocole d’accord établi entre le SPF Mobilité et Transports et l’Organisme d’Enquête.

Les rapports d’enquête sont rendus publics et ont pour but d’informer les parties concernées, l’industrie, les organismes de réglementation, mais également la population. C’est pourquoi l’OEAIF publie, d’une part le rapport en deux langues (français et néerlandais) et d’autre part, un résumé en 4 langues (français, néerlandais, allemand et anglais) afin de prendre connaissance des éléments principaux d’une enquête. Le rapport détaille, quant à lui, les éléments qui ont permis de tirer les conclusions.

Lorsque l’OEAIF décide d’ouvrir une enquête, le site internet est modifié.

 

 

 

La concertation européenne

L’Organisme d’Enquête participe aux activités du réseau d’organismes d’enquête nationaux (NIB), qui ont lieu sous l’égide de l’Agence ferroviaire européenne (ERA), dans le but de tirer profit de l’expérience des autres organismes d’enquête et de collaborer à l’harmonisation européenne de la réglementation et des procédures d’enquête.

 

 

 

Enquêtes sur les accidents survenus sur une ligne ferroviaire musée 

La loi du 26 mars 2014 règle l’ensemble des prescriptions relatives à la sécurité d’exploitation des lignes ferroviaires musées.

Une ligne ferroviaire musée a pour fonction principale le transport de voyageurs-touristes avec du matériel historique, comme des locomotives à vapeur. Il s’agit d’anciennes lignes ferroviaires désaffectées, non démantelées, qui sont généralement exploitées par une association ferroviaire touristique. Afin d’exploiter une ligne ferroviaire musée, l’exploitant doit disposer d’une autorisation, délivrée par l’Autorité de sécurité (SSICF).

Cette loi stipule que l’exploitant d’une ligne ferroviaire musée doit informer immédiatement l’OEAIF de la survenance d’un accident grave, selon les modalités déterminées par ce dernier. Elle prévoit également que l’OEAIF doit effectuer une enquête après chaque accident grave survenu sur une ligne ferroviaire musée. Les résultats des investigations sont analysés, évalués et résumés dans le rapport d’enquête.

Menu