Rail Accident And Incident Investigation Unit

The Investigation Unit

The Investigation Unit Legal status Budget

The Investigation Unit

The Investigation Unit is an organisation created to carry out safety investigations following a railway accident or incident. The Rail Accident and Incident Investigation Unit (RAIIU) operates independently of the Safety Authority, of any regulatory body for the railways or any other authority whose interest could conflict with its investigatory duties.

The decision to carry out an investigation is made independently according to different criteria, in particular depending on the circumstances, or because it presents an option to improve safety.

Investigations are lead by RAIIU investigators with the support of external experts depending on the skills required. The investigations are as transparent as possible and, therefore those involved in safety are informed from the start of the investigation so as to allow them to take immediate measures or to plan measures if necessary.

The RAIIU is hierarchically independent of the Minister for Mobility, the FPS Mobility and Transport, the Safety Authority, etc.

 

Legal Status

The creation of an independent unit responsible for investigating railway accidents and incidents for the improvement of safety is provided for by the European Directive 2004/49. This Directive has been transposed into Belgian law with one law and two implementing decrees.

Law of 30 August 2013 on the Railway Code

Chapter 6 of the Law of 30 August 2013 on the Railway Code relates to:   

The railway code partially transposes various European directives :

The Railway Code does not apply :

Royal decree of 16 January 2007

This Royal Decree partially transposes Directive 2004/49/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 29 April 2004 on safety on the Community’s railways and amending Council Directive 95/18/EC on the licensing of railway undertakings, as well as Directive 2001/14/EC on the allocation of railway infrastructure capacity and the levying of charges for the use of railway infrastructure and safety certification.

In its Chapter 3, it stipulates the autonomy that the RAIIU has to decide on when to open an investigation, visit the site and the scale of an investigation.

It sets out that the members of the RAIIU have an authority card and that the holder of this card has the powers listed in Article 113 of the Railway Code.

Royal decree of 22 June 2011

The Royal Decree of 22 June 2011 designates the Rail Accident and Incident Investigation Unit (RAIIU) .

This Royal Decree partially transposes Directive 2004/49/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 29 April 2004 on safety on the Community’s railways and amending Council Directive 95/18/EC on the licensing of railway undertakings, as well as Directive 2001/14/EC on the allocation of railway infrastructure capacity and the levying of charges for the use of railway infrastructure and safety certification.

It stipulates in Article 4, that the chief investigator and the assistant investigator of the IU may have no link to the Department for Railway Safety and Interoperability (DRSI), or to any railway regulatory body or any authority whose interests could conflict with the investigation.

Budget

The creation of an organic budgetary fund by Article 4 of the programme act of 23 December 2009 is intended to guarantee the financial independence of the Rail Accident and Incident Investigation Unit.

The funds are made up of contributions to the operational costs of the RAIIU by the infrastructure manager and railway undertakings.

The King determines, by Decree, the amount of the annual RAIIU budget, after consultation with the Council of Ministers.

The annual budget is established by the Chief Investigator in collaboration with the department for Budget and Management Control. He has the power to authorise various expenses within the financial limits mentioned, to finalise contracts etc. The Ministerial Decree of 4 October 2011 sets the powers which are delegated to the Chief Investigator in financial matters.

Menu

Organisme d'Enquête sur les Accidents et Incidents Ferroviaires

L’organisme d’enquête

L’organisme Base légale Budget

L’organisme

L’organisme d’enquête est un organisme créé pour réaliser des enquêtes de sécurité lors d’accident ou d’incident ferroviaire. L’organisme d’enquête sur les accidents et incidents ferroviaires (OEAIF) est fonctionnellement indépendant de l’Autorité de sécurité, de tout organisme de réglementation des chemins de fer ou de toute autre instance dont les intérêts pourraient entrer en conflit avec la mission d’enquête.

La décision de procéder à une enquête est prise de manière autonome en fonction de divers critères, notamment en fonction des circonstances, ou parce qu’elle présente une possibilité d’améliorer la sécurité.

Les enquêtes sont menées par les enquêteurs de l’OEAIF avec l’appui d’experts externes selon les compétences nécessaires. Les enquêtes sont aussi ouvertes que possible et, à ce titre, les acteurs concernés par la sécurité sont informés dès le début de l’enquête afin de leur permettre de prendre des mesures immédiates ou de planifier des mesures si cela s’avère nécessaire.

L’OEAIF est hiérarchiquement indépendant du Ministre de la Mobilité, du SPF Mobilité et Transports, de l’Autorité de sécurité, …

Base légale

La création d’un organisme indépendant chargé d’enquêter sur les accidents et incidents ferroviaires, dans le but d’améliorer la sécurité, est prévue par la directive européenne 2004/49. Cette directive a été transposée en droit belge par une loi et deux arrêtés d’exécution.

Loi du 30 août 2013 portant le Code Ferroviaire

Le Chapitre 6 de la loi portant le code ferroviaire est celui concernant : 

Le  Code ferroviaire transpose partiellement diverses directives européennes :

Le Code ferroviaire ne s’applique pas :

Arrêté Royal du 16 janvier 2007

Cet arrêté royal transpose partiellement la directive 2004/49/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 29 avril 2004, concernant la sécurité des chemins de fer communautaires et modifiant la directive 95/18/CE du Conseil concernant les licences des entreprises ferroviaires, ainsi que la directive 2001/14/CE concernant la répartition des capacités de l’infrastructure ferroviaire, la tarification de l’infrastructure ferroviaire et la certification en matière de sécurité.

Il stipule en son chapitre 3 l’autonomie dont l’OEAIF dispose pour décider d’ouvrir, de se rendre sur le site et de l’ampleur d’une enquête.

Il indique que les membres de l’OEAIF disposent d’une carte de légitimation et que le détenteur de cette carte détient les pouvoirs énumérés à l’article 113 du code ferroviaire.

Arrêté Royal du 22 juin 2011

L’arrêté royal du 22 juin 2011 désigne l’Organisme d’Enquête (OEAIF) sur les accidents et incidents ferroviaires.

Cet arrêté transpose partiellement la Directive 2004/49/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 29 avril 2004 concernant la sécurité des chemins de fer communautaires et modifiant la Directive 95/18/CE du Conseil concernant les licences des entreprises ferroviaires, ainsi que la Directive 2001/14/CE concernant la répartition des capacités d’infrastructure ferroviaire, la tarification de l’infrastructure ferroviaire et la certification en matière de sécurité.

Il stipule, en son article 4, que l’enquêteur principal et l’enquêteur principal adjoint de l’OEAIF ne peuvent avoir de lien avec le Service de Sécurité et d’Interopérabilité des Chemins de Fer (SSICF), ni avec tout organisme de réglementation des chemins de fer ou toute autre instance dont les intérêts pourraient entrer en conflit avec la mission d’enquête.

Budget

La création d’un fonds organique budgétaire, par l’article 4 de la loi-programme du 23 décembre 2009, a pour objectif de garantir l’autonomie financière de l’Organisme d’Enquête sur les Accidents et Incidents Ferroviaires.

Les recettes du fonds se composent de contributions aux coûts de fonctionnement de l’OEAIF, à charge du gestionnaire d’infrastructure et des entreprises ferroviaires.

Le montant du budget annuel de l’OEAIF est déterminé par le Roi dans un arrêté, après concertation avec le Conseil des ministres.

Le budget annuel est établi par l’Enquêteur Principal en collaboration avec le département Budget et Contrôle de Gestion. Il a le pourvoir d’autoriser des dépenses diverses dans les limites financières mentionnées, de conclure des contrats, … L’arrêté ministériel du 4 octobre 2011 fixe les pouvoirs qui sont délégués à l’Enquêteur Principal en matière financière.

Menu